"Clean" firmware project

Hi:)
I’m trying to create a “clean” firmware project without connecting to the cloud or to the wifi:)
I would like for starters to make something like this(except for the lcd):

I didn’t want to loose some core features so I’ve edited the core-firmware project.
Unfortunately all my eforts ran into problems (simple led flashing project doesn’t work).
I’m quite new to this.
Can anyone point me in the right direction how to start?:slight_smile:

1. what’s your development environment? Netbeans etc…

2. where did you add your own code?

3. you also need to disable wlan and spark connection on startup in order to do so

Thank’s for your reply:)
1)
I’m working on ubuntu 13.04
Netbeans 7.4
Everything that was needed is installed, compilation of the core-firmware project works fine.
2)
main.cpp:

int main(void)
{
	DEBUG("Hello from Spark!");

/* Main loop */
	while (1)
	{
		static uint8_t SPARK_WIRING_APPLICATION = 0;
		setup();
		SPARK_WIRING_APPLICATION = 1;
		loop();
	}
}

Application.cpp:

// Define the pins we're going to call pinMode on
int led = D0;  // You'll need to wire an LED to this one to see it blink.
int led2 = D7; // This one is the built-in tiny one to the right of the USB jack

// This routine runs only once upon reset
void setup() {
  // Initialize D0 + D7 pin as output
  // It's important you do this here, inside the setup() function rather than outside it or in the loop function.
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led2, OUTPUT);
}

// This routine gets called repeatedly, like once every 5-15 milliseconds.
// Spark firmware interleaves background CPU activity associated with WiFi + Cloud activity with your code. 
// Make sure none of your code delays or blocks for too long (like more than 5 seconds), or weird things can happen.
void loop() {
  digitalWrite(led, HIGH);   // Turn ON the LED pins
  digitalWrite(led2, HIGH);
  delay(10000);               // Wait for 1000mS = 1 second