Changing variable via Cloud API

Hello,

Please bear with me, as I’m new to Photon and my coding skills are limited, to say the least. I’ve built a Photon-based flash trigger which uses very simple code:

const int statusPin = D7; // status LED pin
const int flashPin = D1; // flash pin
const int sensorPin = A0; // select the input pin for the LDR
const int pwrPin = A2; // power pin
int sensorValue = 0; // variable to store the value coming from the LDR

void setup()
{
    pinMode(sensorPin,INPUT);
    pinMode(statusPin, OUTPUT);
    pinMode(flashPin, OUTPUT);
    pinMode(pwrPin, OUTPUT);

}

void loop()
{
    digitalWrite(pwrPin, HIGH);
    sensorValue = analogRead(sensorPin); // read the value from the LDR
    if(sensorValue>950){ // you might need to adjust the default 950 value for better results
        digitalWrite(statusPin, HIGH);
        digitalWrite(flashPin, HIGH);
        delay(10);
    } else {
        digitalWrite(statusPin, LOW);
        digitalWrite(flashPin, LOW);
    }
}

The code does the job, but quite often I need to adjust the sensorValue variable according to the current lighting conditions. As you can see, the value is hardwired into the code, so I use the Build IDE to modify it and push the changes to the Photon board. I wonder whether there is a way to change the value on the fly via an HTTP request using Cloud API? I hope my question makes sense, and thank you in advance for your help.

Best,
Dmitri

You’d usually go with a Particle.function()

In the respective function you’d parse the parameter and assign the parsed value to your local variable.

Thank you for your reply. At the risk of sounding stupid, is it possible to pass a variable in a function to the variable in void loop{}? If it’s possible, how is this done? Thanks!

I may just be stupid , but if you could wouldn’t be void loop (int x), and not void loop ();