Beginner here - RGB LED common anode, single button, need to change colors at push

So I have a couple Cores and a photon, I want to to use a single button to switch a RGB LED between 2-3 colors. I saw some arduino examples using 3 buttons, but I want to try and slim that down to cut down on wiring and such. I’ve been able to loop colors, but I want to keep the colors until I press the button. This is for some costume pieces so I won’t be able to have it internet controlled.

Any assistance would be great!

@dewser great question! Instead of just giving you the code, let’s take it one step at a time and see what you come up with. Forgive me if you know this stuff already… since you left it open I’m just throwing out all of the basics. If you’d prefer just the code though, no worries.

Button facts

• If you want to press, press, press to cycle through the colors you’ll likely need a Normally Open SPST (Single Pole Single Throw) switch. This means the contacts are not connected (normally open) until you press the button. Then they are said to be closed.
  • You need the pin to be read as HIGH when you’re not pressing it and LOW when you are pressing it.
    • To do this connect one side of the switch to a digital input (all I/O on the Core/Photon can be set as a digitalRead() pin).
    • You connect the other side of the switch to GND typically, this will bring the pin LOW when you press it.
    • To make it read HIGH when not pressing it, typically you would add a pull up resistor to 3V3. This can be done in code with an internal pull up resistor (typ. 40 k ohms) with pinMode(D2, INPUT_PULLUP);
  • Most switches have a bit of a “bounce” to them as the contacts close. This connects and disconnects the connects several times very fast in succession until the switch finally rests in a closed (connected) state. The opposite is also true when releasing the switch. This bouncing period usually lasts up to 10-50ms on a variety of switches.