Basic Help - Replacing my Arduino Nano with Spark Core

Newbie here. But I’ve done a lot of Arduino basic programming. I purchased a number of Spark Cores, hoping that my existing Arduino code would work. I was frustrated to learn that dropping in the Spark in place of my Arduino Nano’s was a seemingly insurmountable task without major reprogramming. The biggest problem was that my existing project utilizes 3 SoftwareSerial devices (RTC, openLog, and a serial LCD). I’m not sure how to make all of these work with the Spark.

Questions:
1 - Is there a SoftwareSerial equivalent yet for the Spark Core? Anyone working on?
2 - Is there an easy way to pull RTC information from the network via the Spark Core, and avoid the RTC module?
3 - Same for openLog; is there an easy way to log data to a file on the network instead of using a microSD?

@dschmid4, I understand the frustration for someone jumping from one hardware platform to another. The Core has several features that the Nano does not and though you may have to modify your code, the extra features gained will be worth it. So let’s look at your requirements:

1. RTC - The Core has a built-in RTC which is synchronized with the cloud so you don’t need an external RTC!
  2. Serial ports - Presently the Core has the USB serial and a second port Serial1. Soon, support for a third serial port (Serial2) will be released so you will be able to handle both your OpenLog and serial display. Does your serial display also support I2C or SPI communications?
  3. If you use a simple microSD breakout, we have a complete library for that!

As for logging to the cloud, there are a number of ways to do this. Look under the Project Share category for great examples :smile:

3 Likes
  1. I don’t know of one off the top of my head, but there may be one floating around out there. You can get an extra serial port using Serial1 instead of Serial. The docs for that are here.