Argon BLE Signal Issues

Hi,

I have been using Argons for over two years now and have come across a problem I cannot seem to find an answer to. I have made a PCB that uses the Argon to control some equipment that goes on vehicles in the winter. The equipment is controlled via BLE and a smartphone app. There have been some units recently where the operator is losing BLE connection when they bring their smart phone into the cab of the truck. Every PCB is tested before it goes out for signal strength, most seem to be working in the field. I am seeing units work perfectly for days/weeks then the operator starts having disconnections when getting back into the cab of the truck.

I received my first board back today to look at and it seems that the Bluetooth signal is greatly reduced from what it should be. I tried some different antenna configurations and on a new PCB and this returned PCB that is having signal issues. The BLE tx level is set to 8. Here are the results:

Internal Antenna chosen in Firmware
New board - 68 dBm
Issue board - 80 dBm

External Antenna chosen in Firmware, using supplied Particle Antenna
New board - 60 dBm
Issue board - 80 dBm

External Antenna chosen in Firmware, using our 6dBi gain Antenna
New board - 54 dBm
Issue board - 83 dBm

External Antenna chosen in Firmware, no antenna hooked up to the U.Fl connection
New board - 92 dBm
Issue board - 82 dBm

The test was conducted indoors and the reading was taken about 30 feet from the boards. It seems that the antenna selection in the firmware and using different external antennas does not change the signal strength on the board with issues.

Has anyone seen anything similar happen to an Argon? Everything else seems to work fine and the unit still works as it should if you stand next to it, just the BLE signal strength is affected. The PCB is powered by 12v and reduced to 5v going into the Argon.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Hi, and welcome to the community!