Antenna perhaps inducing Photon misbehavior?

Hello. So, I don’t actually have a problem (at this moment)… but I observed this so I wanted to report it. If you guys need me to do something specific to collect data for you that’s fine, I’ll do what you want.

I have two photons running LED strips. One is approximately 5’ from my WiFi, the other is in another room which is perhaps 30’ from my WiFi. I observed that once in a while the photon in the other room would lose connectivity, so I bought an antenna from your store. The two LED drivers are identical, and the circuit used is posted in the project share. Now, I’m an electrical engineer (up to the MS level) so I’m decently educated - but I work in flight test, so my circuit skills aren’t optimal.

The issue: I observed when I connected the antenna that after a few days of use (~1 week) one of my photons (I ordered 4 because I like back-ups) started to have issues. The issues were that the PWM output pins would sometimes randomly turn on. I noticed this in the middle of the night one day when my wife’s vanity light started pulsing randomly. I checked/double-checked/triple-checked my circuit and installation and couldn’t find any issues. As a precaution I installed some (unnecessary) pull-down resistors (because I figured perhaps somehow my pretty sensitive transistors were somehow getting a charge). Well, that didn’t work. So then I figured perhaps my photon was defective so I replaced it with another one. At first that one worked fine… but then after a week it started displaying the same behavior with an additional random reset. While doing this random reset the photon would flash red a few times, and then reset. This happened very very often (perhaps every five minutes for the short period of observation that I had).