Am I in physical proximity to my Particle device?

Is there any way to tell if I’m on the same router as my Particle device (Core/Photon)? I started out comparing the SSID of my mobile app with the SSID of my Particle device but quickly realized many people don’t change the default SSID of their router so there are probably thousands of Netgear (or whatever) SSID’s out there.

I want to create a product so I have no control over the naming of the SSID where the Particle device resides. But I want to restrict control of the Particle device in some situations to having the mobile app and the Particle device on the same router.

I’m not really a networking expert. Any ideas?

EDIT: Added “device” to make it more clear we are talking about a Core or Photon - BDub

Hi @steelydev,

The easiest way to do this (I think) would be to send small broadcasts from your Core / Photon via UDP. Your app could then listen for these messages on the local network, and would only see them if it were nearby. This is actually how the original mobile app detects when the Core has hopped on the nearby wifi. :smile:

http://docs.particle.io/core/firmware/#communication-udp

I hope that helps!

Thanks,
David

@Dave Thanks. Does that mean I’m bypassing the cloud? And is there any example code?

@Dave Have now be wrestling with UDP since your post 4 days ago and I’m blown away at the bugginess of it all. Has no action been take to resolve the bugs in the UDP firmware? I can’t broadcast from my cores without a hardware fault. I have written an IOS app that broadcasts and my core can pick it up. But I’m worried about the stability of the platform at this point. I’m working on a project that requires these devices to work!

Can you point me to any UDP code that will allow me to broadcast off the core?