Access Token removed from the Web IDE

I have just noticed the Access Token has been removed from the Web IDE. It now directs users to generate an access token using the particle CLI.

This is a big pain for me. I teach design students. I’ve been doing this for 5 years with Particle. The reason our University chose Particle was because there was low barrier to entry. The idea that I’m going to get a class full of design students to install and use a CLI to generate access tokens is nuts.

Why did it go away? Will it come back? If I want to trigger a function on a Particle device should I be using a different method? If anyone has answers, or similar problems please let me know.

S.

2 Likes

I also don't see the benefit of removing that from Web IDE but maybe @bsatrom or @marekparticle can enlighten us (might have something to do with the tightened security regime)

One possible (not advisable tho') workaround might be to use Particle.subscribe(..., ALL_DEVICES) and use Particle.publish(..., PUBLIC) from a commonly known (shudder) account with known access token.

However, bad habits shouldn't be taught, so better forget what I just wrote :wink:

1 Like

You’re right @ScruffR - this was a security decision.

@scottm: you can find a number of ways to view/generate personal access tokens here. While this is definitely more cumbersome than a quick trip to build.particle.io, see the instructions about using cURL and/or the temporary access token in the Console!

2 Likes

Hi @marekparticle I get a message that I am not authorised to access the view/generate personal access tokens page you refer to.

Having access token in the Web IDE is more convenient than a quick trip, it’s where the students are working so it is just where they need it. It is also where getting started guides from Sparkfun, Adafruit, Ubidots, etc… say to find it.

I bet I’m not alone in wanting this feature back. Can the Web IDE not be made secure?

2 Likes