Why does network signal strength go high erratically?

I’m trying to track down why my core freezes up frequently - slows up dramatically for a minute or so then continues as normal - and it seems to correlate with the wi-fi signal strength reported by Network.RSSI() jumping up to +2dB from the usual -50 to -70dB. It happens on 2 different wi-fi networks.

Any thoughts on what causes this?

I have seen the +2dB on mine too, it hasn’t caused me any problems though so haven’t looked much into it

Hmm, interesting @AndrewS. Not sure what the issue is, but happy to help debug. Do you see any patterns for when this happens? How frequently and how regularly do you see this behavior? Also, what code are you running in your own application?

Thanks @zach, it may now be fixed but I’m not sure why and I would really appreciate someone casting a programmers eye over it as I am a beginner at this.

It has been running for 16 hrs now without any apparent symptoms. The loop() code is below.

The ‘if’ test starting about 20 lines form the end, headed ‘// signal strength LED’, is used to drive an LED (blink ON time proportional to RSSI strength) and I also use it to detect freezes by testing to see whether the blink time is much longer than expected. For more than 9 out of 10 freezes the RSSI value has been recorded as 2dB and I always suspected that had something to do with the problem.

2 days ago I added the ability to disconnect from wi-fi for 59mins every hour, just listening for commands for 1min. The thought was that it was the cc3000 that was causing the freezes (I had patched the cc3000 a week before). The ‘conn’, ‘stayConnected’ and ‘starting’ booleans manage the connection and I use a spark.function to toggle full time connection. This seemed to reduce the fault rate significantly, but they were still occurring.

The changes I made 16 hrs ago that may have fixed it were: