What options are available for Spark automated rain barrel project?

I have started an open source rain barrel project over on GitHub.

I was earlier working with an Arduino Yun but I would rather do the wunderground web queries, JSON parsing, and control logic in the cloud, sending basic commands to the microcontroller.

1. if someone is interested in joining me, then I would be near ecstatic.
  2. what do you think is the best way to do this? Is there a nice and simple yet powerful enough online development or interface environment to use that is compatible with the spark core?

Some background: I am an environmental engineer working on this as a side project. I would like to present on how the open source community canon develop environmentally relevant technologies. I like the idea of the spark core because most houses have wifi and the core can enable the rain barrel to be a simple wifi accessory to a household. There is also a wonderful group of people working with the core.

6 Likes
  1. I could be persuaded; I just need to get rain barrels. Do you have any specific recommendations for this project?
  2. You can use the existing Spark web IDE, or are you thinking something a little different?

If you can get started on the project, we can help you with any roadblocks or feedback.

Do you have any recommendations for controlling mosquito populations near a rain barrel? That has been one of my main sticking points with them. Even if you use the BT “mosquito dunks”, they still tend to swarm around the stagnant water, even if the larvae die off.

3 Likes

Here is the background for those who are interested
AutomatedRainbarrel

Overview: