What is POST and GET? How do you use them?

I am new to Spark (but have had some experience with Arduino) and was trying out the “Control LEDS over the 'net” example. I successfully uploaded the code from the example (see below) and tryed typing in Terminal POST /v1/devices/{myDeviceIDHere}/led but instead of doing something to the LED (they don’t make it too clear what the example is actually supposed to do) I am just prompted with -bash: POST: command not found

Here is the code:

int led1 = D0;
int led2 = D6;

// This routine runs only once upon reset
void setup()
{
   //Register our Spark function here
   Spark.function("led", ledControl);

// Configure the pins to be outputs
   pinMode(led1, OUTPUT);
   pinMode(led2, OUTPUT);

// Initialize both the LEDs to be OFF
   digitalWrite(led1, LOW);
   digitalWrite(led2, LOW);
}

// This routine loops forever
void loop()
{
   // Nothing to do here
}

// This function gets called whenever there is a matching API request
// the command string format is l<led number>,<state>
// for example: l1,HIGH or l1,LOW
//              l2,HIGH or l2,LOW

int ledControl(String command)
{
   int state = 0;
   //find out the pin number and convert the ascii to integer
   int pinNumber = (command.charAt(1) - '0') - 1;
   //Sanity check to see if the pin numbers are within limits
   if (pinNumber < 0 || pinNumber > 1) return -1;

// find out the state of the led
   if(command.substring(3,7) == "HIGH") state = 1;
   else if(command.substring(3,6) == "LOW") state = 0;
   else return -1;

// write to the appropriate pin
   digitalWrite(pinNumber, state);
   return 1;
}

Please help!
Thanks,
ma7730

I’ve edited your post to properly format the code. Please check out this post, so you know how to do this yourself in the future. Thanks in advance! ~Jordy