Variables unavailable when photon is in deep sleep?

I’m new to the Photon, so I may have missed something in the documentation. I’m starting out by developing a temperature sensor that runs on a battery. Since I want the battery to last for a while, I have the photon go to deep sleep for 5 minutes after taking a measurement. When this happens, I noticed that the cloud variables published by the photon are no longer available. Is this normal? I expected the value of the variables to still be readable from the cloud, which I planned to query through a web app. Is there a way around this?

If I’m not mistaken, variables don’t get ‘saved’ in the Cloud. The cloud acts as a sort of middleman to make connections easier. The Photon connects to the Cloud, much like your computer does. When you request something, the Cloud asks your Photon for this data, which it then routes to the computer requesting it.
As such, the Cloud can’t ask the Photon for information while it’s asleep. The features like you describe them might be added in the future, but for the time being, you’ll have to resort to alternatives.
If the receiving/requesting end is always active, you could have it listen to events, which can be pushed from the Photon. That way, the receiver doesn’t have to know when the Photon is awake, but will get its information pushed. HTTP calls, and webhooks are also possible, should you prefer those.

4 Likes

Ok, I see, thanks! Where does one post to make feature requests? :wink:

You just did :wink:
What might be helpful is some extra information on how you imagine it to work exactly. The more details and/or user scenarios, the better. @dave might be able to chime in when/if this will be implemented. If not, I’m sure he has some ideas that might be enlightening :smile:

1 Like

If I'm sleeping, I cannot update my facebook status or re-tweet the latest Kardashian updates. I have to wake up before I do that. :smile: