Two pin serial communication

I should start by saying that I’m a complete newbie with electronics. I’m in the planning stages of a project and I think I’d like to use Spark for it, but I have a question before I start.

My project involves receiving wifi packets and transmitting the info in them via DMX, which involves the use of an XLR connector. The thing that I’m unsure about is that the DMX spec involves two pins of the connector for communication. When the voltage of pin 1 is greater than pin 2, a “1” bit is transmitted, and when the voltage of pin 2 is greater than pin 1, a “0” bit is transmitted.

That’s simple enough, and I assume I could use two digital pins on the Spark unit for it, with functions to turn them on or off depending on what to transmit. This seems like reinventing the wheel, though, when I’m just writing ordinary serial data and there’s a serial transmission pin on the device.

So, TLDR: I need to transmit serial data to two pins using a single output pin. What do I do?

Thank you for reading,
Jesse

1 Like

You're working with DMX?

There's a DMX arduino shield and we had some discussion about this before.

Only issue is we need to get the code ported over.

If the interface is purely UART then you can use it with the spark core almost immediately.

Let us know what are you trying to hook up to the core? :smile:

2 Likes

DMX uses differential signaling, which is why you need two pins to control it:

I am guessing this will require a true DMX library for the Spark Core; I found a couple of things, I’ll link to it on the other thread that @kennethlimcp shared above.

2 Likes

We gonna need a shield somehow yeah? :slight_smile: together with a library and we can do great stuff!

Thank you for the additional info. I wanted to Google this stuff, but being so new, I didn’t know the names.