To build a Bar-o-meter device or not?

Hi all

TLDR; A guy wants to know building a hardware device is alot easier or building an app for iOS/Andriod devices with Bar-o-Meter feature

I am thinking to build a Rain forecast station using Particle’s Electron(3G), SparkFun Weather Shield and Bread Circuit.

I am not sure is it easy or possible to do it? I am new in building hardware product from scratch and I don't know how to even solder stuff together (if needed). Another issue is creating the program or logic for it.

So I hope you guys can give some advice through this post.

Problem:
The rural area (Indonesia) I am testing in does not have a local weather station so the locals cannot predict when the rain is coming.

So I bought an AcuRite weather station and bar-o-meter(AcuRite 02007 Digital Weather Center) from Amazon which is designed for America so it is not working well in Asia countries like Indonesia.

I hope to build a device that can at least send a text message to 1 or more mobile phones about the weather forecast. It will be a great bonus to upload the data to the Cloud and then send emails out.

About me:
I am Information Systems guy who deals with databases, html and some Java/C# programming experience. I am based in Singapore and I like eCommerce stuff.

I am looking at this possible project as community work to help the locals to get the basic information such as when is it going to rain at their area and etc.

Information I found:

https://developer.mbed.org/users/mafischl/notebook/weather-station/

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sparkdevices/spark-electron-cellular-dev-kit-with-a-simple-data/description
http://www.amazon.com/AcuRite-02007-Precision-Forecast-Thermometer/dp/B00EDMCC5W/ref=lp_397435011_1_18?s=furniture&ie=UTF8&qid=1445481626&sr=1-18