Timing while asleep

Hey all,
I’m still very new to coding and would love some help with a project I’m working on.

I’m making an automatic timer that tracks how long a switch is flipped and publishes that to the cloud. Its battery operated so I’m trying to maximize battery life whenever possible.

My thought is to wakeup when the switch is on and pulls D1 low, get the current time, and go back to sleep (all without ever connecting to the internet)
Then, when the switch is off (pullup brings D1 high), I’d wake up again, get the current time, see the difference, connect to the internet, publish the total time, and return to sleep.

A few questions based on this.

1. Is this a smart approach? Is there a better approach?
  2. Does Time.now() require a cloud connection? If yes, is there a regular timer I can start and end instead that will still run while the particle is asleep?
  3. Does this code make sense for what I’ve described?
  4. This will be run on an electron. Does that change anything? (no wi-fi where its running)
    Thanks so much, and looking forward to your help.
    Best,
    Brett
SYSTEM_MODE(SEMI_AUTOMATIC);

int sensor=D1;
int startTime=0;
int endTime=0;
int totalTime=0;
void setup() {

pinMode(D1, INPUT_PULLUP);

}

void loop() {
    if ( digitalRead(sensor)==LOW)
    {
        startTime=Time.now();
        System.sleep(D1, CHANGE);

}
    else {
        endTime=Time.now();
        totalTime=endTime-startTime;

Spark.connect();
        Spark.publish("totalTime", String(totalTime), 60, PRIVATE);
        delay(10000);
    }
}

I’d keep track of the prevous button state and you should apply an external pull resistor since AFAIK System.sleep() tends to override your pinMode() setting the mode to INPUT on CHANGE trigger.
Your time variables should be unsigned int.

And nowadays Spark.xxx() functions would actually be called Particle.xxx() :wink: