Thermal printer project

Hello all. I am quite new to Spark, Arduino etc. and need some help.

I have a mini thermal printer (the same as the adafruit thermal printer) connected to a Sparkcore. I have got the printer working following this thread - https://community.spark.io/t/help-thermal-printer-library-for-spark/5237/4 using this code - https://github.com/pkourany/Adafruit_Thermal_Printer

My end goal is to create a printer (packed up in a nice box) that i can send messages, images etc. to print. It’s going to be a gift for my son - we live apart and thought it would be a fun way to send him messages.

I wanted to follow this - https://github.com/exciting-io/printer/wiki/Making-your-own-printer - but this is based on using an Arduino with ethernet shield and SD card.

Ok. I have an SD card module connected to the spark. I presume i need that as the sparkcore does not have enough memory to handle large images (i tried and it prints a few lines of an image then craps out printing garbage.)

Can anyone help me get the ‘exciting-io’ code working on the sparkCore, I can return the favour and offer my design skills (I am primarily a designer).

I can replace the SD.h with the sparkler SD library but not sure where to start on the rest. Any help would be greatly appreciated even if its just a nudge in the right direction.

(PS. in this photo the SD card is connected but currently not doing anything, although i did get it read/write with the web IDE SD card library example. )

Thanks
Stuart

3 Likes

@Stu, it is good news that you have the SD and printer working with the Core so far. To get the Arduino code going, you will need to replace the EthernetClient code with the Core’s TCPClient(). Perhaps @bko can help with that part.

All the libraries included at the top are not necessary, except for the printer and SD .h files and Bounce2 library which I have to look at. Take a first crack at the code and see how far you get. :smile:

2 Likes