TCPClient, available() & read() methods, supported scenario?

Hi,

In the context of one of my projects, a “monitor and command” middleware for embedded projects (http://monitorandcommand.codeplex.com/), I am trying to develop a “Photon/Wiring Client” library
that allow the Photon to send/receive messages to/from the a Server.

I managed to code the “send” part rather easily, and my photon has now been sending temperature and humidity messages to the Server for days.

But I cannot get the “read” part to work. Whatever I try, I cannot get the available() and read() methods to return anything but 0, even though I am 100% sure that the Server sends messages back to the device.

Coming from .NET/NETMF, where I use Threads, I am rather new to Wiring/Photon, and I am now wondering if what I am trying to achieve is feasible with Wiring/Photon.

If I simplify things to the Max, my library defines a mcClient object that references a TCPClient and implements the methods required to send/receive fixed size Messages to/from the Server. What I am trying to achieve is, in the loop() method, to perform periodic work while listening to incoming messages eventually sent by the Server.

My main loop thus look like this :

loop() {

delay(50); //is it required ?

if (mcClient.IsConnected()) {

if (mcClient.ReceivedMessage()) //behind the hood, we use available() here to test if we received anything from the server    
        {
            Message message = mcClient.ReadMessage(); // we get the message from the client
            HandleMessage(message); //We handle the message 
        }

//Periodically, we do work, like reading sensors and sending messages to the Server
        if (millis() - lastTime > DO_WORK_PERIOD)
        {
            DoWork(); //Behind the hood, we send messages using TCPClient, and it works perfectly
            lastTime = millis();
        }    
    } else {
        delay(RECONNECTION_DELAY);
        ConnectAndRegister(); 
    }
}