Spark function and a loop

Hi,

I am new to Spark and am experienced with Arduino and so I am not a total newbie. However, I have a question about Spark functions that I do not fully comprehend and was hoping to get expert views.

I have been playing with with the blink code and triggering it via the REST commands. I wrote the following two functions for test purposes.

int blink(String args2){
    Serial.println("Entering blink loop");
    while(1)
     digitalWrite(led2, LOW); 
     delay(1000);               // Wait for 1 second in off mode
     digitalWrite(led2, HIGH);
     delay(1000); 
    }
    Serial.println("Exit blink loop");
    return 10;
}

int blinkoff(String args1){
    Serial.println("Entering blinkoff");
    digitalWrite(led2, LOW);
    Serial.println("Exiting blinkoff");
    return 20;
}

I was trying to understand how the Spark REST protocol handles loops. I find a couple of interesting elements of this code.

1. The API times out in the Blink function because it never reaches the “return 10.” (This is obvious because the loop prevents it from reaching the return.) Is this a problem? It seems problematic that the browser just sits and waits forever.
  2. If I close the window in 1 and then run “blinkoff,” I see the LED turn off briefly and then resume blinking. It appears that the Spark remains in the blink loop in perpetuity and that the blinkoff routine has no effect long-term effect.

Here are my questions:

1. Should perpetual loops ever be used in Spark functions?
  2. Is there any way to return a JSON value inside of a loop in the API? (Using return will kick you out of the function and hence the loop.)
  3. Once a loop is running in a Spark function is there any way to stop it remotely via the REST API?

Thank you for any assistance and sorry if these are newbie-ish. I am trying to get my head around Spark and how I will use it.