[Solved] Udp.write() and tcp.write() 20 second hang

I’ve been facing this issue for about two months now but it used to happen so rarely that I could never figure out what it was that blocked the core. So yesterday I finally flooded my code with Serial.prints and the issue happens more regularly therefore I’ve been able to pinpoint where my code hangs which is udp.write() and tcp.write().

General loop() Flow:

1. Check for UDP Packets
    • Parse packet
    • Reply back with a UDP Packet ( 20 second hang)
  2. Check if connected to Remote TCP Server
    • If not connected TCP Server
      • Connect to NodeJs TCP Server
      • Send first time connect message (20 second hang)
    • If connected to TCP Server
      • Check for TCP Packets (Condition never true after a hang)
        • Parse packet
        • Reply back with TCP Packet
      • Send keep-alive TCP Packet (20 second hang)

Some notes and thoughts:

1. My code runs a UDP-Server, UDP-Client and a TCP-Client
  2. Other network functions except write() seem to work fine. So udp.parsepacket(), udp.read(), udp.available(), tcp.connect(), tcp.connected() work fine even after the code starts to hang.
  3. Haven’t tested tcp.available() or tcp.read() so can’t comment on them yet.
  4. So far I haven’t been able to figure out when this occurs. Sometimes happens within seconds and sometimes takes many hours.
  5. Once either of udp.write() or tcp.write() hangs, both will always hang from there on.
  6. udp.write() and tcp.write() hang for precisely 20 seconds and the code continues to run full speed after that until the next write(). The writes are not successful, that is my NodeJs server or UDP server don’t receive any data from the Spark even after 20 seconds. Serial.prints continue to work though.