[SOLVED] Offline Function

Hello,

Sorry if I’m being noob here but I’m new on iOT technologies.
I’m working on Particle with a RaspPi B (Raspbian up to date), and I need to create several online + offline functions.

Let’s take a simple example : I need to switch on and off a LED from an App AND from a physical button, but I also need this button to work offline :

• I created a function on particle, which is working through particle console,
  • I can call this function through the mobile app using the API, everything fine,
  • But is there a way to call this particle function from the physical button (connected to Raspi by a pin), and even without wifi ?

Otherwise I can probably redevelop a function with Python or C specifically for the Raspi + button, but that means 2 parallel developments and losing the practicality of Arduino language.

Maybe Particle CLI on Linux could be the solution ? Not sure about offline possibility with it, but for know I didn’t achieve to install it (there is a bug I need to figure out).

Thank you very much for your help, hopefully this is just a simple thing to achieve :o

Have a look :slight_smile:

https://docs.particle.io/reference/firmware/raspberry-pi/#digitalread-

2 Likes

Thanks, but I’m sorry I don’t really get it.
digitalread will allow me to understand the state of the light if the button have been used offline I guess.

Bu my question is more about what is there a simple way to call and use a particle function offline on raspberry (so I develop most of my product functionalities on particle IDE). Not sure if I’m clear here '-_-

In pseudo-code:

int Pin = D0;

void loop(){
  if (digitalRead(Pin) == HIGH){
    doFunction();
  }
}

Check the status of your button pin, and act accordingly.

That's exactly what the docs example shows you to do :wink:

1 Like

Ok great thank you !
I will try this asap and let you know :slight_smile:

Just a quick update : Everything works fine offline.