Solar powered watering system

Hi

I’m new to photon and any help is greatly appreciated!

I want to build a relatively simple system that will allow me to water my vegetable garden using the photon and photon relay shield. I have the thing up and running and it works well but it drains my battery incredibly fast!

Does anyone have any advice?

I know there’s a battery shield and I could include a solar panel. but that shield seems to power a 3.7 volt battery while the relay shield requires a 9-20v power source. Is it possible to set up my own solar charging station without the shield? any advice on how to do this?

Thanks!
Rich

What is the relay switching? Could you tap into that for power?

I would suggest you do a separate 12v solar power system.

Can you gupive us a breakdown on what’s hooked up where and how and how often do you plan to water?

Here’s what I would do. Not use solar shield or power shield but get an off the shelve (il look around) 12v solar system that can power a big battery to have power to spare a few days of clouds. The reason I am suggesting this is because coils are not power efficient, specially those in solenoids or water pumps.

You then regulate that power with a good DC regulator and power the photon from there along with solenoids and such.

After that you can start working on improving your power efficiencies like not to talk or turn on wifi radio when not required and look for solenoids that only consume power in transition and not the whole time the valve opens.

If you are not powering pumps, this seems like a more then adequate solution. Be careful to use good capacitors or a good dc/dc power supply before powering the photon.

Update:
This might work (or might be an overkill but you get the idea):

Thanks for the response. Here’s the setup:

One photon seated in the particle relay shield. there are 4 relays on that shield. Three of them control separate 12V solenoids.

That’s it, pretty simple.