Shield Shield - Blinking LED problem

Hey Guys,

I’m new to electronics so please bear with me :smile:

I’m not sure if it’s me or if there is an issue with my shield shield, but I cannot get a blinking led to work using any of the digital pins (0-7, and yes I update the code when testing the pins) on the shield shield. If I plug the spark into a breadboard and connect the led to the digital pin it works without any issues. It’s like power is not routing through the digital pins on the shield shield.

If I wire the led directly to GND and 3V3 on the shield shield, it works.

The shield shield is using a 7v 2a power supply

Here is the code:

// Define the pins we're going to call pinMode on
int led = D4;  // You'll need to wire an LED to this one to see it blink.
int led2 = D7; // This one is the built-in tiny one to the right of the USB jack

// This routine runs only once upon reset
void setup() {
  // Initialize D0 + D7 pin as output
  // It's important you do this here, inside the setup() function rather than outside it or in the loop function.
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led2, OUTPUT);
}

// This routine gets called repeatedly, like once every 5-15 milliseconds.
// Spark firmware interleaves background CPU activity associated with WiFi + Cloud activity with your code. 
// Make sure none of your code delays or blocks for too long (like more than 5 seconds), or weird things can happen.
void loop() {
  digitalWrite(led, HIGH);   // Turn ON the LED pins
  digitalWrite(led2, HIGH);
  delay(1000);               // Wait for 1000mS = 1 second
  digitalWrite(led, LOW);    // Turn OFF the LED pins
  digitalWrite(led2, LOW); 
  delay(1000);               // Wait for 1 second in off mode
}

Do I have to add anything to the code do use the digital pins on the shield shield?

Have I missed something obvious? :slight_smile:

Thanks.

Sparkacus

Did you solder the led to the digitalpin pad or simply poked it?