Sending POST requests from the Core

Hi,
I am very new to Spark and before I commit myself to use this in my project, I want to know if it is possible to do what I have in mind.

Here is what I am planning to do:

1. Monitor a physical variable, like say, for example the water level of my water tank every minute. I want to log this information via a streaming service: https://www.initialstate.com/streaming
    This service allows me to post my variables to their cloud based system.

2. In case the monitored variable goes beyond a certain value, I want an email/tweet to be sent out to me, as a warning.

Both 1 and 2 are easily achieved via python if I use a raspberry Pi hooked up to my sensor. But I want to achieve everything via the Spark. This keeps my project small and web enabled from the get-go.

The question is: is this doable.

I read the API documentation. I know I can GET and POST urls to my core. But how do I make my CORE itself do a POST request to the streaming service webserver?

And how do I get the core to send out a tweet? Are there libraries that I can use for this purpose?

Thanks for your patience in reading my post.
Have a good day.
Seemanta

@seemanta, since the Core cannot do https directly, you can now do GET/POSTs using webhooks. These allow you use use Spark.subcribe()/publish() to send or get data from any website to and from the Core. A neat new feature recently added is the ability to have the Cloud do a JSON parse on return data so you only get what you want from the payload, removing the need to do JSON parsing in the Core.

2 Likes

Can webhooks be used with the local cloud?

I’m looking at using the Photon for monitoring some things, but security is an issue for me. So I need to be able to push data from the photon in real time, but I can’t use the public cloud.

–anthony

@aaltieri, the local cloud does not yet support webhooks. However, webhooks and all related data is secured like all other public Cloud transactions.