Scheduling a function on Photon

I am trying to schedule a function on the Photon to run once a day using the timer mentioned in the documentation. I am a novice coder, so I think I have missed something as the function is not triggered. My project is a Force Sensitive Resistor attached to A0 on the photon that provides a number between 0 and 40000ish. I want the particle.publish function to publish “Buy Milk” when it gets below 400 and I use IFTTT to send an SMS to my phone. I want that to happen once a day, and it doesn’t need to be too precise. Here is my code:

int FSR_Pin = A0; //analog pin 0

Timer MilkTimer(5000, Milk_Check);

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void Milk_Check(){
  int FSRReading = analogRead(FSR_Pin);
  if (FSRReading < 400)
{
   Particle.publish("Milk is low", "buy milk");
   Serial.println(FSRReading);
   }

else 
{
    Particle.publish("Milk is fine", "all is well");
   Serial.println(FSRReading);}
}

@drwilson, you are currently triggering MilkCheck() every 5000ms or every 5 seconds. So every 5 seconds something will be published. The software timer maximum interval is 65535ms or 65 seconds so it can’t be used for a 24hr delay.

In order to only publish once a day, you may want to use the built-in Time library to check for a specific time each day to trigger the check. The idea is to keep the next day/hour/minute you want to do the next check and compare with the current day/hour/minute/sec until they match. You then do your sensor check, update your “future” day/hour/minute/sec and the cycle starts over.

Another entirely different approach is to use the web IDE TIMEALARMS library to set an alarm and trigger your sensor read. It does all the heavy lifting and makes things simpler for a new coder. :smiley:

2 Likes

do something once a day at the top of the hour:

void loop() 
{
  static int lastHour = 24;  // hour() returns zero through twenty-three
  int currentHour = Time.hour();
  if(lastHour != currentHour && currrentHour = 16)