Publishing Millis

WGuys,

I am really really new to Particle and very rusty with my Arduino programming (several years). So I am starting a small project, and adding slowly to it, trying to teach myself again.

The problem I am having is with the Particle.Publish command and the Millis() command.

I will post my code below.

Basically, I want to FIRST start by just “publishing” a time event to the particle cloud that correlates to the PIN going HIGH or LOW.

As you see below, I have a publish event shortly after the PIN change.

I keep getting the error: “invalid conversion from ‘long unsigned int’ to ‘const char*’ [-fpermissive]”

I googled for quite a while and I don’t know the “best” way to fix what I am trying to do.

unsigned long DOT; //Door Opened Time
unsigned long DCT;//Door Closed Time

void setup() {
    pinMode(D0, INPUT);
    Particle.publish("System","System Started");
}

void loop() {
   if (digitalRead(D0) == LOW) {
       delay(1000);
       DOT = millis();
       Particle.publish("Dog Food Bin","Door Opened");
       Particle.publish("Door Opened", DOT);
        while (digitalRead(D0) == LOW){
            delay(1000);
        }
   }
    else if (digitalRead(D0) == HIGH) {
       delay(1000);
       DCT = millis();
       Particle.publish("Dog Food Bin","Door Closed");
       Particle.publish("Door Closed", DCT);
        while (digitalRead(D0) == HIGH){
            delay(1000);
        }
    }
}

Gutted by

This tells you exactly what the problem is: You are trying to provide a long unsigned int as parameter where only const char* is allowed.
If you look at the docs for Particle.publish() you'll see that the data parameter has to be a string and not a numeric type.

BTW, when using a button or switch you must make sure your input pin never floats.
For that you'd need a pull-up/-down resistor opposite to the level your button/switch is closing to.
INPUT_PULLUP or INPUT_PULLDOWN would be the options to apply internal pull-resistors.