Porting HT1632C driver to Spark Core, need help!

I’m trying to port this code into something that compiles/works on the Spark Core. I’m new to porting code from Arduino to Spark, so any pointers would be helpful!

In the header file, there are references to Arduino, AVR, ARMEL, and PIC32MX, but nothing regarding the STM-based chip. What definitions would be closest/appropriate for choosing when porting this?

@Catfang, I’ll take a closer look at the library tonight and give you some pointers. If you’re stuck, I can do the port for you :smile:

Thank you! I don’t mind doing the port, but I’m going to need a little guidance to get started. For instance, should I add another set of #if-#endif for Spark Core and try to keep the original code? (So that the finished library could be updated as “Spark compatible”; otherwise I can clean out all the conditional code to make it a new Spark-only lib.)

Do I need to typedef uint8_t? Does the STM32 behave more like an AVR chip and need uint8_t defined members, or use the ARMEL/PIC _port_t instead? Or neither?

Is <stdint.h> needed? It seems to fix some of the uint8_t issues but the reference doesn’t exist in the original code.

…stuff like that, mostly. I’ll try the IRC channel for help as well later today.

@Catfang, that’s why I need to review the code so I can tell you where the (SPARK) flag need to go. The application.h file includes all the definitions needed for uint8_t, etc. What is really different is the GPIO and the code around that. There will need to be a SPARK specific section with Core compatible code there. Now that I look, I realize it may be more complicated than I thought. I’ll take a shot at the port and show you what I did. :smile:

1 Like