Photon Maker Kit - DS18B20 - temperature sensing issues/questions

I purchased the Photon maker kit and am attempting to use the DS18B20 temperature sensor that comes with the kit. (I’m kind of new to the photon but did get another sensor to work so am not a total newb.) Debugging indicates that the photon isn’t detecting the presence of the DS18B20 and is returning a temp of -127.0.

I may have a combination of wiring and software issues going, and want to make sure the wiring is correct before looking at the code.

• All the info I’ve found indicates that a 5k-ohm pull-up resistor is needed, but it doesn’t appear that this resistor came with the kit. I may have missed something, but why would the kit not come with that resistor if it’s required for use with the DS18B20? If I need to buy it, where can I get it?

• Also, should the DS18B20 Vdd pin be grounded or supplied with voltage? I’ve seen it done both ways so am unsure which is correct…

Thanks in advance,
Paul

1 Like

I’m not completely sure what resistors come with the kit, but I would be surprised if there where no 4k7 resistors - and you can try other values between 2k and 10k too (or two 10k parallel will give you a 5k).

Whey you say you only found that didn’t really help, have you seen these
e.g.
DS18B20 Dallas Temperature readings jumping high at random intervals
DS18B20 is throwing -127C from time to time
Getting correct address of DS18B20

or any of the other threads dealing with DS18B20 (search box top left)

About the wiring you could look here
https://github.com/tomdeboer/SparkCoreDallasTemperature (online library for Particle Build/Web IDE)
https://docs.particle.io/assets/datasheets/makerkit/DS18B20.pdf (datasheet linked in the Maker Kit docs)

I’ve been having the exact same issue as you, @pwerner.

It’s quite frustrating… the sensor seems to be reporting 0.00 for me using the test .ino that’s in the library for the DS18B20.

This shows how I’ve wired it up: