Particle.publish() a float variable

Hi,

I'm a beginner, please bear with me.

I'm trying to extend the powershield example "batterymonitor". I want it to publish the battery SOC using particle.publish()

I followed many examples and could not come up with any code that would build. I did plenty of searching and ended up here:

first of all, in that topic, the OP posted code that started with this line:

#include "Particle.h"

Is that necessary, and if so, what does it do? I know I need to include the "PowerShield/PowerShield.h", but not sure what the other one is for.

The topic linked above makes both "double" type variables into particle.variables. I want to take it a step further and use particle.publish(). From what I understand, I need to use sprintf to convert the "double" variables into character strings that can be published. I also tried it using "float" type variables (as the example code in the battery monitor sketch uses float variables)

sprintf(stateOfCharge,"%d",batteryMonitor.getSoC()); Particle.publish("Batterysoc",stateOfCharge);

I can't seem to write the sprintf command in a way that doesn't end up in an error.

Here is another thread with seemingly similar issues, and seems like it never did get resolved.

Basically, my question here is: school me on double/float variables and pushing them out using particle.publish(). Everything in the documentation just pushes strings of text out, which is admittedly very easy and works well. But I could not find any documented examples of pushing out actual meaningful data pulled from a sensor.

Thanks!!

From my knowledge, perhaps you can put your float into a string using the String() function?

Particle.publish("Batterysoc", String(stateOfCharge));

Edit: Had a typo in stateOfCharge, fixed.

2 Likes

Well that kind of worked, but it just pushed out zeros into the log.

Here is my current code, I get this error: power_shield_test.cpp:30:13: error: expected primary-expression before ā€˜.ā€™ token