Noob: Turn on/off LED at 8:00AM

I’d like to turn an LED on at 8:00AM. I’m a noobie programmer, so most of the API calls go over my head.
I understand the blinking LED program, and I could adjust it to blink on a longer period, but that would depend on when the spark starts up. Is there any way to check to see what the current time is? I’m thinking I’d elongate the loop to 60 minutes and put the conditional check to see if the hour of the time is between 8 and 10.

Any help making this (what seems to me a very simple) program?

Hi @sweenig,

You're in luck! A bunch of community members ported Network Time syncing code to run on the core, and I recently made a blink an LED example using their code. I posted that here:

This program blinks on every multiple of 5 seconds synced with a time server, it should be a small step to port that to blink at 8am. :slight_smile:

Thanks,
David

Thanks @Dave! That got me pretty much there. I do have a couple questions about it though.
Here’s what I’ve got so far (my OCD required me to remove much of the whitespace):

UDP UDP;
char string[ 17 ] = { "" };
int led = D0;
int hour, minute, second;
unsigned int localPort = 123;
unsigned int timeZone = -6; //tz offset
unsigned int serverNum = 0;
unsigned long timeout;
const char timeServer[] = "pool.ntp.org";
const int NTP_PACKET_SIZE= 48; // NTP time stamp is in the first 48 bytes of the message
byte packetBuffer[NTP_PACKET_SIZE]; //buffer to hold incoming and outgoing packets
int synced = 0;
int state = 0;
unsigned int offset = 0;
unsigned long secsSince1900 = 0;
void setup()
{
	UDP.begin(localPort);
	pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
}
void loop()
{
    if (!synced) {syncTime();synced = 1;}
    receiveTimeTick();
    if (hour >= 8) {
        digitalWrite(led, HIGH); //go on
        delay(3600 * 3); //stay on for three hours
        digitalWrite(led, LOW); //go off
    }
    delay(60000); //idle for 1 minute (could be much longer really)
}