Non-Volatile Data Storage Help

Hello,

I am new to Particle and using the Photon module.

I am connecting several pairs of photon devices and trying to store the “paired” device ID in non-volatile memory. I’ve had success using the EEPROM functions, get() and put() to store and read a 24 char string (the size of the device IDs), but the EEPROM data is lost upon power loss or reset. When I utilize cloud function below, I am returned a “1” which tells me that the EEPROM write worked correctly. I am using Particle Dev to check the “pairedID” string through a cloud variable.

Am I doing something wrong?

My code is very simple:

//setPairedCandle() is a cloud function 
int setPairedCandle( String candleID )
{   
    String IDcheck; 

EEPROM.put( 0, candleID );    //Store candleID into Flash memory

EEPROM.get( 0, IDcheck );     //Read candleID from Flash memory

if( (strcmp(candleID, IDcheck))==0 )    //If successful EEPROM write
    {
        EEPROM.get( 0, pairedID );    //Update the pairedID

return 1;   
    }
    else
        return 0;   //Return 0 if unsuccessful

} 

I am not partial to using the EEPROM functions, I just need a way to permanently store the device ID of the paired candle on the photons. Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
-Joshua

Shouldn’t you first EEPROM.get() the data and only EEPROM.put() when the result of get() indicates a new device?
The way I see this (since you don’t show the rest of your code) pairedID only gets populated in that function, or where and how else?
Could you show the rest of your code?

1 Like

Hello,

True, it would make sense to build a checking mechanism into this function, but I don’t see how that would solve the problem I am having.

pairedID is a global variable and is initially populated using EEPROM.get() in setup(). See below.

//Definition under global variables:
    String myID, pairedID;  //Device IDs for this device and it's paired device

void setup()  
    {