Next thing to learn

I’m new to programming and photon. I’ve completed my first project that opens and closes the door for my chickens (yes, I said chickens) so that they can get out during the day and back in at night and be safely locked up when we are away. I’ve had an automatic door for awhile using a sprinkler timer but by using the photon I can get notifications through ifttt and my phone that it has actually happened. It is working great and I’m very happy with it so far. However, currently, I have to manually adjust the open/close time from the opener box. I would like to be able to do that using my phone. What I need are recommendations on what to learn next to accomplish that. Can it be done from a local webpage on my phone like the led toggle example in the manual? Is that the best way? Learning HTML seems like the best way but I don’t want to spend a lot of time on that and then discover it won’t work. Suggestions?

Without knowing what equipment is used to open/close the door, I’ll ask could you simply use 2 limit switches instead of manually adjusting the Time?

Think of a switch that is pressed when the door if in the fully closed position.
Another switch that is pressed when the door is in the fully open position.

To open or close, the Photon performs the action until the opposite switch is contacted.