Need help learning C/C++: strings, arrays, type conversion, etc

First, apologies for my total noobishness. I’m not new to programming, but I am new to C/C++, which now that I have a Photon I must learn.

My current issue is around strings and type conversion. I have managed to get the example snippet from the RC522 RFID/NFC reader working, thanks to this thread, which is great.

However… I want to be able to, say, have an array of NFC card / tag UIDs and when a card / tag is read, if it’s in the array, do X.

So far I’ve managed to do those things in isolation… that is, I can read the cards/tags, and I have an array of strings which are the UIDs. But I can’t for the life of me compare them to each other.

Or, for that matter, even concatenate the UID with a string for debugging when reading a card/tag.

Please help? Even just a pointer to some good docs on this stuff. I hope my issue is clear. Thanks in advance!

Could you show what you’ve tried in order to achieve this so far?

This allows us to assess what way might be best to explain things and also may help you to break out of common ways of thinking (which are valid for one task but have to be “forgotten” in order to dive into another).

It’s often easier to grasp and remember things if you not only see how things do work but also why your intial thought didn’t.

2 Likes

Great points, thanks for replying too.

The code I have at this moment is in a Gist here: https://gist.github.com/Japh/f6886276aa4c552150ae

I’ve tried a whole bunch of different ways that seemed plausible (some from my own thinking, and some from what I could glean from Googling).

My background is mainly in PHP, Python, JavaScript… web stuff.

@Japh, take a look here for inspiration:

There was another project that used a fingerprint scanner coupled with RFID (I believe) and a database but I can't seem to find it.