MPR121 Capacitive Keypad with Photon

Hi!

I’m new with the Photon and Particle environment.
I want to connect my MPR121 Capacitive Keypad to my Photon via I2C communication. But I can’t find out how I initialize and setup it in my software.

I’m nether sure about the hardware setup. I know SDA -> D0 and SCL -> D1, but not sure with IRQ -> # ?

Hope someone can help me witht this setup. I want the opportunity to touch an passcode on the keypad, and get it into my code.

I am using the MPR121 breakout (no keypad) but as for the IRQ you can choose any Digital Pin.

I am using a modified Adafruit MPR121 lib like this (i don’t use interrupt functionality at all so far though)

int irqpin = D5;                                        // Touch IRQ. Might be useful for ECO-Mode

Adafruit_MPR121 cap = Adafruit_MPR121();

void initMPR() {
     pinMode(irqpin, INPUT);
     digitalWrite(irqpin, HIGH);
     Wire.begin();

if (!cap.begin(0x5A)) {

//MPR121 Not Ready?
         Serial.println("MPR121 Not Ready");
}
3 Likes

Do anyone have an example code, that initialize the keypad?
I mean the actual setup of what should happen when you press the various pads.

@smnnekho, I’m not sure about these lines in your code

pinMode(irqpin, INPUT);
 digitalWrite(irqpin, HIGH);

If this code came from an Arduino library this would cause the AVR chip to attach a pull-up resistor to the interrupt pin, but on the Particles you’d rather just write

pinMode(irqpin, INPUT_PULLUP);

The other version would not work the same way.

@eskehagen, have you got a link to a library that would support that keypad on another platform (e.g. Arduino)?

@ScruffR Thank you for pointing that out. i didn’t use the interrupt functionality yet so i didn’t realize the code is wrong.

@ScruffR I have found this toturial, that use an Arduino and the ‘Adafruit_MPR121’ library.

I think that could be used white the Photon, but I don’t know how to adjusts to the Photon?

1 Like