Mobile App Development for the Non-Mobile App Developer

I have been thinking about this for a while and I can’t believe I am the only one. So, I thought perhaps I could start a new thread where the last one left off (closed after 180 days - sigh) and see what people are using or could recommend.

https://community.particle.io/t/mobile-apps-talking-to-particle-devices/58199/7
I would be interested in hearing more from @ctmorrison on his experiences and perhaps we can carry on the conversation here.

I think a reasonable place to start would be to talk about what a mobile app should be able to do. As I am new to this, please feel free to suggest more requirements if I am missing something:

Single Sentence - A cross-platform mobile app that I could give to members of my product “team” that would allow them to have access to the functionality of the Particle Mobile App or Particle Console but with a better UI.

• Identity - I am thinking this is someone’s Particle ID and what they could do would be based on their role in the Particle product team. I am thinking that this uses Particle’s Team Access Controls.
    Team Access Controls | Tutorials | Particle
  • Scope - The number of devices this person could see / interact with would be tied to the product. They would see a device list as they might if they were logged into the Particle console
  • Functionality - The user could interact with a device and get information equivalent to the Particle console with, perhaps, a more intuitive interface. This would include Particle Functions and Variables as well as device health
  • Provisioning? - I am less sure on this one as I think it becomes much harder to manage scope / roles here but perhaps this is possible too - again based on product roles.
  • Cost - I don’t know how much these applications will be used and I don’t want to sign on to some huge up-front development contract or high monthly bill until I get a sense. Is $50 / month unreasonable?