Measuring DC current with the CSLA2DH Honeywell sensor?

Hello,

I’m trying to measure DC current (from an automotive battery) with the CSLA2DH Honeywell current sensor and display the results using the particle electron. Does anyone have any experience with this as I am new to this and have absolutely no idea about the coding part!!

Here’s the link to the spec sheet of the sensor for reference.

Any help would be great, Thanks!

First, the “datasheet” you provided there does say the minimum supply voltag for the smaller of these sensors would be 6V, so with only a LiPo for a power source you won’t be able to run these sensors. Also signal to the Electron cannot exceede 3.3V hence you need to map the sensor’s output voltage into that range too.
So before you get into the coding part, you need to figure the electronic part :wink:

2 Likes

Thank you so much!!! I had no idea about this!! Will look into this and will figure it out!!! Thank you once again!

Hey!! thank you for your valuable input… I think i have successfully powered the sensor and was wondering if the code for reading the current value is correct:

int currentsensor = A5;
int lastReading;

void setup() {   
    pinMode(currentsensor,OUTPUT); 
    digitalWrite(currentsensor,HIGH);

Particle.variable("lastReading", &lastReading, INT);
}

void loop() {    
   lastReading = analogRead(currentsensor);
   delay(1000);
}

What is the voltage and current your trying to measure? Is it AC or DC power?

There are other possibly better options with the code already written for the Particle devices depending on what you’re trying to do.

I do see some issues - or things not clear to me.

First the less important.

Particle.variable("lastReading", &lastReading, INT);

This is the old way of writing this, which is now deprecated.
Rather write it this way now

Particle.variable("lastReading", lastReading);

But here is the bit that puzzles me.