Looking for step by step tutorial using the cloud

Hello there, I am new to Spark Core but I use Arduino for a while now. On this moment a like to learn how to read analogue values from the Core. I know the first step is to write firmware wich read the values and store them in variables.Then the Core must send the variables to the Cloud.

The next thing is to make a HTML page wich reads the values and present them on the HTML page.

Now my real question, is there a tutorial wich shows me

1 how to send the values to the cloud
2 wich html syntax,tags do I need to read and present those values into a HTML page.

André

Hi @pa0akv

Have you looked at the tutorials section here on the forum? I have written a bunch of tutorials on using Spark publish, variables and functions:

https://community.spark.io/category/project-share/tutorials

I would start here:

2 Likes

Thanks bko. I will start there and see if I understand it

Hello bko thanks for the tutorial. I try to understand it. First a look at the firmware.

char publishString[40]; make room for the complete string
Spark.publish(“Uptime”,publishString); publish it!

makes things possible to send it to the cloud as I understand.

Now to the HTML part:
Connect this button starts the START function

function start()
{
document.getElementById(“uptime”).innerHTML = “Waiting for data
”;
var deviceID = “xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx”;
var accessToken = "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx"
var eventSource = new EventSource(“https://api.spark.io/v1/devices/” + deviceID + “/events/?access_token=” + accessToken);
is needed to know how to speek to the right Spark Core and I want the “uptime” information.

eventSource.addEventListener(‘open’, function(e)
{
console.log(“Opened!”);
},false);

eventSource.addEventListener('error', function(e) 
	{
        console.log("Errored!");
	},false);

is needed to check the Spark is alive! but what is the meaning of console (same as Arduino terminal?)