Issue driving a 5V relay from Photon

Hi,

I apologize in advance as I feel like this question is really straight forward, but for the life of me, I can’t figure it out. I should also add that I am fairly new to this, so bear with me.

Here is what I am trying to do: I am trying to control the opening and closing of a 5V relay (JZC-11F) from pin D0. I feel that this is as basic as it comes, and yet I can’t get it to work.
Here is a quick and dirty diagram of my connections:

Here is a picture of the wiring, as I am new to Fritzing, so not sure my diagram is accurate.

D0 goes to one side of the coil, with the other side being connected to GND. I have the + side of the relay connected to the VIN and the NC side connected to an LED. I have put an LED in the D0 as well to verify that it was providing current.
The code is as simple as it gets:

pinMode(D0, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(D0, HIGH);
delay(1000);
digitalWrite(D0, LOW);

The LED that is connected to D0 and to the coil flashes, but the LED controlled by the relay doesn’t. If I plug the coil directly into the 3.3V rail, then I can hear the relay opening and closing as I connected it and disconnect it, so I feel that it is an issue with D0 not providing enough power to the relay, but from everything I have read, this should work or am I completely wrong here?

Thanks a lot in advance for the help and my apologies if this was covered somewhere else, but I did some searches and couldn’t find anything helpful.
Cheers,
B.

You need to know that the max current any GPIO on the Photon can drive is 25mA.
This might not be enough for the relay coild to fully engage the contacts.

You should use a transistor to switch the higher current either from Vin (5V) or 3v3 (may be problematic with a 5V relay in the long run).

You can have a look at the schematics of the Particle Relay Shield how it’s done there
https://github.com/particle-iot/shields/blob/master/photon-shields/PDFs/Schematics/relay-shield-v310.pdf