Immersion Heater controller by Spark Core

I have been reading on this device lately and I’m very impressed at what it’s capable of doing. I’d like to control my Immersion Heater over internet and would like some help as to which parts I need.

The device uses around 3KW/h on initial heating, and is plugged to a 240v 16A double pole switch at the moment. I want to be able to switch this on/off over the internet.

Which parts do I need to get please?

1 Like

Not sure is this helps :smiley:

I use a Arduino relay shield from ebay to control 3 2Kw heaters, most of them works with 3.3V signals to. The most of them manage 10A, but you might be able to find on for 16A to. Simple and cheap solution if you don’t want/have time to make a relay board or hook up one your self.

1 Like

To be honest I saw that link already but I was unsure about the amperage, as well as the way it’s wired (switching from 4mm wires to those thin ones to control the heater).

Also, bit of a newbie here, when you mentioned the 3.3v signals, what do you mean exactly?

Can an arduino relay 10a+ be used with the spark core directly?

You drive the relays with a voltage signal, which can be either HIGH or LOW. Different relays have different requirements. Some relays need to get 3.3V to operate, while others need 5V. Since the Spark Core operates on 3.3V, you’ll need to find a relay which is compatible with that, or you’ll have to figure out a way to get 5V to it (shouldn’t be that hard if you can’t find a 3.3V).

The amperage in relation with the Spark doesn’t matter, since the current will only run through the relay. The relay will have to be able to handle the current that is necessary for your heater. The only thing your Spark has to do is supply a high enough voltage to switch your relay.