How to update html on receiving new event from core

I am creating a Node and Express website in which events are received from a spark core and then the data it sends is displayed on the site.
I am new to MVC, so I wasn’t sure how to actually display the core data on the site.

I am using the spark node module, and in my app.js, I have

//set up express routes and views above this code

spark.on('login', function() {
	console.log("logged in to spark api");
    //populateTable();

//Get updates for every event from our devices
    spark.getEventStream(false, 'mine', function(data) {
        var rawData = JSON.stringify(data)
        console.log("event stream event: " + rawData + "\n");
        var data = JSON.parse(rawData);
        console.log("core id: " + data.coreid);            
    });
});

//Login to the spark api
spark.login({accessToken: '<accesstoken>'});

But how do I actually display my core id on the website?
I think I would have to call a POST request to one of my routes, but how do I do that from app.js?
Or is there a better way to update the html whenever a new event is received?

For really simple things, I subscribe to the event stream on the client side and just use jQuery to update the website. You can just use SSE in a script in the page to listen for events and then update the page however you wish (jQuery, angular, etc)

I have an example in one of my projects here: https://github.com/eely22/bluzGrillThermometer

Just look at the file page/index.HTML and you will see the SSE listener setup and how it uses jQuery to update the website.

That’s what I ended up doing anyway, but I still want to know how you would do it through the node module though.

Is there a particular reason? Doing it on the client side is perfectly fine.

I have done things where I catch the events in node, then use SSE to send them back out to the client. I did that here: https://github.com/eely22/spark_hose