How to connect to Spark Cloud and pass the info from smart device

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie …pardon my basic questions here…

We are planning to develop a smart device which would post some information onto the spark cloud during its operations.

Had the following questions:

1. Wanted to understand how the handshake would happen between my smart device and the spark cloud.
  2. Where inside the cloud can my smart device write the information,can it write it into a file or a database etc

Greatly appreciate help in this regard.

Thanks,
Sriram

1. the handshake will be handles by the firmware and nothing needs to be done by the user. All the configuration required wpuld be setting the wifi credentials

2. Right now, there is no storing of information on the cloud. It’s more like accessing it through the API and saving it in your own storage/server

Soon, the Spark.Publish() feature which works like a key value store will be available but still, if you want to log/store all the information, you need a program/server to grab them through APIs and save it

Welcome @SRIRAM0506 — thanks for asking the question!

As @kennethlimcp said, you really don’t need to worry about the communication with the Cloud. The :spark: Core takes care of all that for you. Thus, you get to focus on making your own product great and can trust the connectivity to us!

Smart devices usually come in at least two pieces:

1. the hard device itself that must be connected to the internet
  2. a web application that communicates with the device using the REST API

When you want to write data from the device to “the cloud” — you really mean your own web application, but the messages pass through the Spark Cloud.

If you want to understand better how the Core and Cloud communicate, you should look at the core-communication-lib, which is open source:

Cheers!

Thanks a lot for all your inputs.