Help with air pump and valve setup

I am working on a project and could use some wisdom. The goal is to have 5 variable flow outputs from an air pump. I could use 5 separate air pumps and control the output at the pump level but would rather have a single pump with a way to control the output at 5 variable control valves. I can’t just use a basic solenoid as I nee variable flow at each output.

The pump has a max output of 12psi and flows <4L/min. I have done just a bit of reading on variable control valves which is what I “think” I need but I’m a bit out of my depth. I’m a novice working in hardware and particle. My background is in application development but am trying to prototype an idea I have.

Is there a better approach I’m not thinking about? Do you know of an inexpensive control valve I could use?

@jakedempsey, do you need 5 different outputs, each with a different fixed flow rate? Or do you need 5 different adjustable (non-fixed) outputs?

If I understand correctly, you could use a manifold to go from your pump to 5 outputs each with a solenoid and manual flow rate valve that you adjust for each output, making sure your expected total rate dosen’t exceed your pump’s max output.

1 Like

Can you explain the system in a little more detail?
For instance: will the air be released at a constant depth in a fluid ( a defined/known discharge pressure) ?

The air pump has a defined Pump Curve that you can reproduce if it’s not easily available. For any given system pressure, there is a defined flow rate the pump will produce.

The discharge piping and endpoint make up a System Curve.
This curve relates the headloss at various flowrates.

The actual operating pressure and flowrate for the Pump are where the two curves intersect.

If the 5 outputs have substantial differences, this would get tricky but not impossible.
Similar to what @peekay123 suggested:
You could use a flow meter on each of the 5 outputs, each with a proportional valve.