Help wiring Electron to Udoo x86 Board with a 20ms low pulse

I’ve really enjoyed working through the tutorials for the electron, I’ve been a programmer for many years but still feels like black magic :slight_smile:

I’d like to perform some power management on a board I have and I need some help with producing a 20ms low pulse in order to trigger the board.

I’ve got some instructions here using a switch and I’ve followed these and it works (mostly)

https://www.udoo.org/docs-x86/Arduino_101_(Intel_Curie)/Braswell_Power_Management_From_Arduino_101.html

I’ve tried a few things but the board just goes to sleep straight away. I think this is because I need to keep the voltage high and somehow only make the power go low using the Electron.

I can almost imagine the solution but not quite, case of running before I’ve finished walking.

Could anyone give me some tips or ideas ?

All the best

John

We don’t quite know what else you want to do with the Electron, but this would be my first thought to do for what I got from your description

void setup() {
  pinMode(D0, INPUT_PULLUP);
}

void pullLow(uint32_t ms) {
  pinResetFast(D0);
  pinMode(D0, OUTPUT);
  delay(ms);
  pinMode(D0, INPUT_PULLUP);
}

If you want to have your device to deep sleep, you’d need to use an external pull-up.
If you want to use Standby Sleep, you could use the wake pin with FALLING edge, as this also will have a pull-up resistor attached.

Thanks @ScruffR!

Too be honest the code was the least confusing this for me (I’m a code guy :slight_smile: ) or though it’s good to know I was thinking along the right lines, it was getting the wiring right which I was worried about.

Would it be a simple as connected the respective grounds together from the Electron and the board and then connecting say D6 into IO9 ?

I was a bit confused because in the diagram from the board manufactures they are supply their own power where-as I’m guessing that not required when integrating the Electron.