Dumb Question? Solar Panel Charging - Limit Current or Voltage or Both?

So, I was looking at my code the other day and something about the way we are configuring the Power Configuration API struck me as odd.

First, a little context for those who are new to this topic:

• Boron LTE, run-in deviceOS@2.2.0
  • 6V / 3.5W Voltaic Solar Panel
  • Panel is connected directly to Vin with a 470uF electrolytic cap

There is a complex relationship which I am not an expert on (leave that to @Rftop ) between the voltage and current that a solar panel can put out in order to deliver “max power” for a given light level. Large solar systems use a dedicated controller to manage this called Maximum Power Point Tracking of MPPT..

The good news is that MPPT is likely overkill for a Boron and you can achieve acceptable results using the by-pass cap (see above) and the right power configuration:

// Power Management function
int setPowerConfig() {
  const int maxCurrentFromPanel = 550;                                // Set for implmentation (550mA for 3.5W Panel, 340 for 2W panel)
  SystemPowerConfiguration conf;
  System.setPowerConfiguration(SystemPowerConfiguration());  // To restore the default configuration
  if (sysStatus.solarPowerMode) {
    conf.powerSourceMaxCurrent(maxCurrentFromPanel) // Set maximum current the power source can provide (applies only when powered through VIN)
        .powerSourceMinVoltage(5080) // Set minimum voltage the power source can provide (applies only when powered through VIN)
        .batteryChargeCurrent(maxCurrentFromPanel) // Set battery charge current
        .batteryChargeVoltage(4208) // Set battery termination voltage
        .feature(SystemPowerFeature::USE_VIN_SETTINGS_WITH_USB_HOST); // For the cases where the device is powered through VIN
                                                                     // but the USB cable is connected to a USB host, this feature flag