Driving Stepper motors

Hi -

I am quite new to Particle, so my apologies in advance for any stupid questions. I was hoping anyone might have recommendations for shields/drivers to drive Nema steppers at 2A.

I am upgrading our current system form Arduino to Particle and am not too familiar with shields/drivers available yet.

Thanks!!

Hi Postler -

Thank you for the post, I will look into it. I am familiar with the A4988 as I used them in some Arduino projects in combination with CNC shield.

I am considering getting the Particle classic adapter and add CNC shield to iet again, allowing me to use the same drivers. I need 2A per motor as they have very heavy load on them. Will post my findings, net to Particle and eager to learn :slight_smile:

Thanks again.

Not sure if you really want that.
What Particle devices do you own and what shields do you want to plug them into?
The Particle Classic Adapter is meant as a means of inserting the new Generation 3 of Particle devices into shields that were originally meant for Gen1 & 2 devices.
If you want to get a smooth start with Particle devices I'd recommend going with Gen2 Photon for now.

Hi ScruffR -

Thank you for the feedback. I ordered some Photons, Xenon, Argon, 3G kit and whole bunch of smalls. As many of my projects involve larger Steppers (Nema 23 and up) I got quite used to running them of CNC shields with 2 x DRV8825’s per motor (for redundancy). I saw the shield below on one of our leading sites in South Africa and though it might be a way to run steppers as it does not seem there is something within Particle’s arsenal to driver steppers.

I always prefer sticking to closed environment as far as possible, but seems for steppers I might have to look outside?

To be clear, I wont be running an UNO and Particle, would be overkill. The shield will accommodate the Photon and then the CNC Shield with drivers

Appreciate the advice!

I see, in conjunction with a Particle Shield Shield this makes some more sense.