Deep sleep then doesn't compile new code

I’ve implemented this tutorial

Then I wanted to add the code for deep sleep for 5 seconds, then wake up and measure the temperature, humidity and light.

#include "Adafruit_DHT/Adafruit_DHT.h"

#define DHTPIN 0  // The signal pin of the DHT sensor is connected to D0
#define DHTTYPE DHT11

int temperature, humidity, light;
int light_pin = A0;

DHT dht(DHTPIN, DHTTYPE);

void setup() {
    dht.begin();
}

void loop() {
    temperature = (int) dht.getTempCelcius(); // returns a float
    humidity = (int) dht.getHumidity();
    float lightMeasurement = analogRead(light_pin);
    light = (int) (lightMeasurement / 4096 * 100);

System.sleep(SLEEP_MODE_DEEP, 20);

Particle.publish("temperature", String(temperature) + " *C");
    Particle.publish("humidity", String(humidity) + "%");
    Particle.publish("light", String(light) + "%");
}

This is my first time with sleep mode. So I didn’t know that it will flash green and reconnect the WiFi every 5 seconds without even doing the measurements. So I added a delay at the last line. Now the Photon does not accept the code and “times out”.
It’s now stuck in a wake up sleep loop.

What to do?

(I haven’t tried yet obviously, but I think I need a delay between each publish. right?)

Safe mode is always a first resort in these cases.

Also, try reading the docs on deep sleep again, that might help you understand why the current code isn't publishing.

I got nothing. I read the documentation twice now. I can’t get the Photon to go to deep sleep, wake up, take measurements and publish then back to sleep.

To try and fix the temperature readings, try adding a 2-3 second delay after dht.begin(). The DHT11 and DHT22 sensors (and friends and cousins) require at least 2 seconds between readings.

You may also want to move the sleep code to the last line in your loop. For good measure, you can also add a short delay to make sure the publishes go through:

void loop() {