Cpp attachInterrupt to class function help [solved]

I am pretty new to cpp and find I am fumbling through it, but need some help and or explanation. I am trying to make a class that in the constructor attaches a member function to an interrupt. Can I do this?? I am sure I am just missing something fundamentally about pointers or something. Here is my example code:

help.ino

#include "foo.h"

foo myFoo = foo(D0);

void setup() {

}

void loop() {

}

foo.h

#pragma once
#include "application.h"

class foo {
    public:
        foo(int channelA);
        void doChannelA();
        volatile int position = 0;
};

foo.cpp

#include "foo.h"

foo::foo(int channelA) {
    pinMode(channelA, INPUT);

// Setup interrupts
    attachInterrupt(channelA, doChannelA, RISING);
};

void foo::doChannelA() {
    position++;
}

No Joy message:

/foo.cpp:7:49: error: cannot convert 'foo::doChannelA' from type 'void (foo::)()' to type 'voidFuncPtr {aka void (*)()}'

Thanks Again for anyone’s time for the help,
Brian

Hi Brian,

Using C++ in embedded environments is an area that interests me quite a bit, so I will probably ramble a bit. If you just want a quick solution feel free to skip to the end of this post :smile:

The problem is that the attachInterrupt() function requires a non-member function, since it doesn’t have any way to know what foo object you want to call your doChannelA() function on (recall that class member functions are always called on an object, e.g. fooObject.doChannelA()). This leaves us with the choice of a static class function or a global function, neither of which require an object to act on.

I greatly prefer static class functions when possible, but to make them clean, the interrupt function would have to provide a user parameter so that the interrupt provides the object we want to call doChannelA() on. It would look something like this:

*** Not a real solution, just wishful thinking ***