Control Peltier temp with Spark Core?

Hi guys, I’m new to all this so please bear with me.

I have a spark core and would like to use its WIFI capabilities to automatically adjust the temperature of a Peltier unit attached to a heat sink and fan. I’d also like to have an led showing the ranges of temperature but that doesn’t seem as complex.

How do I go about purchasing the correct Peltier unit and what accessories would I require, in order to get this working? The Spark from what I can see can run off a max of 6v, does that mean I can’t use a 12v fan with it?

Many thanks.

Hi @jdrm

I assume you want to cool (or heat) something with your Peltier device. A Peltier device is a high-current load so you will need some external circuitry for it.

You will need a high wattage 12V power supply and either a separate power supply for your Spark or buck converter since it needs +5V or +3.3V. An old PC power supply would do nicely, for instance, but there are lots of choices.

You will also need a high-current switching device like a power transistor or a MOSFET to control the Peltier device. Here is an Arduino example:

http://bildr.org/2012/03/rfp30n06le-arduino/

You need to make sure the grounds of the two power supplies are tied together but you can’t let the +12V get to core or you will fry it.

Finally for the control loop, you will want a temperature sensor like a DS18B20 or a 10k thermistor or a TMP36-type sensor. Just stay away from 100k nominal thermistors since they require more external circuitry on Spark.

Be careful and have fun!

2 Likes