Connect Wi-Fi socket & plug to App

Hi there,

I am new in the Spark world, and as mechanical engineer I am afraid that I do not have enough formation in electronics. However, I am really excited about all these stuff ! It’s seems magic to me.

So my idea is to create a mobile application to control the lights and sockets in my house. I am pretty sure that there are already many topics about these in the community. Unfortunately, most of them, they only broach code. So, I will need more information concerning the electronic part.

For the moment I deal to switch off & on a light with a Spark core + spark relay (not a big deal, I agree…). Even if this is basically what I need, I will like to meter my consumption as well (and send to the App). How can I do that ? What electronic part I need to buy ?

Thank you for your help in advance !

You get the idea! Relays will be required to on and off power to your appliance.

As for monitoring, you probably need to monitor just the current since the voltage level doesn’t fluctuate too much.

You have 2 options for this:

1.) Non invasive current sensor

2.) Invasive current
sensor

4 Likes

Hi kennethlimcp !
This is really useful ! I think I will better choose the invasive current sensor as long that I would like to do it compact. Thanks !

1 Like

Hello again !
I learnt that that I will need a PWM for fading a LED bulb. Do you know if there is something already done ( I did a quick research in sparkfun but I didn’t find nothing…) so I can just connect to the Spark core ?

I look the SPARK socket block diagram and I saw that the LED is dime with TRIAC. Is it a kind of PWM ? What about the zero cross detection, what’s dois it do?

Thanks in advance.

Traics are devices which are essentially AC switches. “Dimming” is achieved by cutting off a portion of the AC sin wave depending on how “Dim” you want it. Ie, if you cut off 50% of the wave then the light will be “Half” as bright.