Components for a voltage sensor/tracker

Hello all, I am a seasoned programmer new to the hardware side of things. I am trying to build a monitor for my boat that will notify me every time my bilge pump turns on and for how long (12v). I would also like it to update my GPS position once per 10 minutes only if the position has changed. Otherwise I would like it to send a “heartbeat” every hour or so to say it is still connected. I plan to send the data to Azure Iot Hub and can build all the notification code myself.

I need help picking the components that would support this. I believe I need the following:

1. Main board
  2. GPS Sensor (perhaps I can get relative position from the LTE?) I don’t need it to be very accurate.
  3. LTE Support (I have a SIM with a low-cost data plan, and I want LTE for widest coverage)
  4. Voltage sensor to sense when the bilge pump activates (can sense 12v on/off)

Ideally this would be low-energy consuming with the ability to put everything in low-power/off mode while it sleeps. I have 12v power available onboard the boat (but perhaps need to transform it down to 5v).

Can anyone suggest the best components to accomplish this?

@sailorscott, I don’t know how much you want to tinker on this or if you want more of a turn key solution.

If you are looking for more turnkey, you are very closely describing the Tracker One that Particle just released a few days ago. Here is a link for some more info.

Edit: the above link is misbehaving, try this one.

Thanks Backpacker87. This looks great but is not available until July? I am happy to tinker (to teach myself how these systems work). I just found this article which is very close to what I want to do: https://blog.particle.io/learn-how-to-build-this-cellular-asset-tracker-with-a-particle-boron/

The only thing I would add is a sensor to determine when the bilge pump activates (12v turning on and off). I also need to convert from 12v power to 5v to power the sensor.

1 Like