Can't read serial bytes fast enough to stop buffer overflow @ 115,200

Hi All,

I have an external device I am trying to get to work with a B5 SOM. It communicates via a UART at 115,200 or faster. I have many years experience working with it.

The device responds to a command from the controller and returns a page, 1024 bytes plus a few bytes of overhead. The controller must acknowledge the page and the device sends a continuation byte and a further page or a "no more data" byte. It can send up to 13 pages.

This works fine up to 3 pages but then the wheels fall off. The Particle stops receiving data. This always happens at the same point. blockOnOverrun is false. I am logging each handshake for each page and the timing is consistent with the data being processed as it arrives. I have tried it with and without flow control. With flow control the data just stops and the Particle behaves accordingly. Without flow control it goes into a dumb state for a while and the function is not completed. The log data is not sent via the webhook.

It is as if the buffer is overflowing but the function should be removing each byte from the buffer as soon as it arrives. This is the code:

bCount = 1;    //byte count
cCount = 0;    //cycle count
pFound = false;
while (bCount < 1031 && cCount < 6000 && !pFound)     //6000 x 50 us = 300 ms
{
     while (Serial1.available() && bCount < 1031 && !pFound)
     {
          rByte = Serial1.read();
          dldBytes[rPages][bCount] = rByte;
          bCount++;
          if(bCount > 1028 && rByte == B_END_PAGE)         //end of packet found  ΒΆ - 0xB6
          {
               pFound = true;
          }
    }
    cCount++;
    delayMicroseconds(50);
}

Is there a limit to how quickly this code would remove bytes from the buffer? It should be fine at 115,200 baud. I have similar code running on a much slower Arduino and it works fine.
Not having a second serial port for debugging is a massive pain.

Any help would be appreciated.